eChampions League Finalists Confirmed

The battle for this year’s eChampions League crown continued over the weekend, with eight players booking their seats in the finals.

One week after the group stages concluded, players returned to London on Saturday when the knockout stage got underway. The action didn’t disappoint as fans were treated to plenty of thrill, drama and shocking upsets.

After two days of intense competition, only eight players progressed to the eChampions League final. This year’s winner will be crowned on Wednesday, May 29, when the finals will take place in front of a live audience. He will then walk away with a massive prize of $75,000 of the $280,000 that is up for grabs.

How Things Unfolded in the Knockout Stages

Day 1 of the knockouts saw the second and third seed go head-to-head in the playoffs for a spot in the round of 16. The day started by KeturDylo thumping Serie A champion HHezerS 7-3 in a thrilling victory. KeturDylo simply punished every mistake made by his opponent.

Elsewhere, an incredible matchup between Montaxer and Marley ended with the former pulling a comeback from two goals down to win 4-3. The game was heading into extra time when Montaxer scored a corner to secure victory.

One of the best matches of the eChampions League group stages was between eLigue 1 champion Fouma and DaniPitbull. Both players showed their attacking brilliance but it was DaniPitbull who walked away with a 6-4 win.

The epic battle between Bonanno and Rikhard11 showed why the Manchester City star should never be ruled out. Bonanno trailed 3-0 at half-time but somehow managed to complete a shocking turnaround in regular time before clinching victory in extra time. In the next match, Red Bull Leipzig star Umut was stunned by Ekmenn94 who won their tie 6-3.

There was more drama in the match between Ekstraklasa champion Riptorek and Andonii, with the latter narrowly losing 5-4. The last two matches of the day saw Torino CF’s Luco Negua thrash Feldman 4-1 and Cadiz CF’s DFernandes beating Isopowerr 6-5.

The drama continued on Sunday when a total of 16 players battled it out to qualify for the finals. The most shocking upset of the knockouts took place in the first match of the day as FC Pro Open winner PHzin was stunned by Montaxer.

PHzin scored first and showed his prowess in the first half but thing changed in the second period when Montaxer grew in the game and ended up recording a convincing 4-1 win. Meanwhile, Jonas “Jonny” Wirth continued with his incredible run by securing a 2-1 victory over KeturDylo.

City’s Bonanno stunned fans by how he destroyed Levi de Weerd’s defending to take a 4-0 lead. Levi scored three quick goals to reduce the deficit but Bonanno held on to book his place in the finals.

The match between Paris Saint-Germain’s NKantee and DaniPitbull saw both players exchanged goals for 90 minutes. The scoreline was 3-3 in stoppage time when a poor tackle by NKantee gifted his opponent a penalty to win the match 4-3.

eChampions League defending champion Emre Yilmaz showed his desire to retain the title by beating Riptorek 2-0 to reach next week’s final. A close encounter between ManuBachoore and Ekmenn94 ended with the world champion securing a 5-3 win.

In the last two matches of the day, LevyFinn beat Luco Negua 5-3 and Cadiz CF’s DFernandes won against Neat via penalties.

Who Qualified to the Finals?

As already mentioned, a total of eight players qualified to this year’s eChampions League final. Below are the players who will be aiming to win the title next week in London:

  • Montaxer
  • Jonas “Jonny” Wirth
  • Bonanno
  • DaniPitbull 
  • Emre Yilmaz
  • ManuBachoore
  • LevyFinn
  • DFernandes

The eChampions League final will be a live event taking place at the Magazine London. Ticket sales are already underway as the attention shifts to the D-Day.

Don’t forget to follow us on Twitter/XInstagram and Facebook for more esports news.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments